The EBU confirms the final classification of the 40 participants in the Eurovision Song Contest 2022 after its investigation

Reaffirms its decision to replace the irregular votes of the jury from Azerbaijan, Georgia, Montenegro, Poland, Romania and San Marino

The European Broadcasting Union (UER) –(EBU, for its acronym in English)– has confirmed this Thursday the final classification of the 40 participants in the Eurovision Song Contest, after its investigation into the irregularities detected in the voting of six countries.

The organizer of the contest has explained that this year’s contest was “a great success in bringing together hundreds of millions of people around the world in unity and celebration”, but as reported on Saturday May 14, the independent pan-European voting partner of the European Broadcasting Union (EBU) detected irregular voting patterns in the jury votes from six countries participating in the second semi-final: Azerbaijan, Georgia, Montenegro, Poland, Romania, San Marino.

“The integrity of the vote, both by the national juries of each country and by the viewers who vote by phone or SMS, is essential for the success of the program”, he stated, while adding that it is the duty of the EBU guarantee a valid result. “Consequently, any breach of the rules is taken very seriously,” she said.

In this sense, the entity has reported this Thursday that, in the second semifinal, it was observed that four of the six jurors placed five of the other countries in their Top Five, taking into account that they could not vote for themselves.

According to the EBU, a jury voted for the same five countries in its Top 6; and the last of the six jurors placed four of the others in their Top 4 and the fifth in their Top 7. Four of the six received at least a joint 12 points, which is the maximum that can be awarded.

The pattern in question, as it has clarified, was detected as irregular by Pan-European Voting Partner and recognized by Independent Voting Monitor, since five of these six countries were classified outside the Top 8 by the juries of the other 15 countries that voted in the same semi-final, which included three of the Big Five: Germany, Spain and the United Kingdom.

Furthermore, four of the six countries qualified in the bottom 6 of the other 15 countries that voted in this Eurovision semi-final. “An irregularity in the jury’s voting pattern of such unprecedented magnitude,” the EBU said.

According to the votes of the second semifinal to which Europa Press has had access, Azerbaijan placed Poland, Georgia, Romania, Montenegro and San Marino in its TOP 5; while Georgia placed Azerbaijan, Montenegro, Romania, San Marino and Poland in the top five of the ranking.

In the case of the Montenegrin professional jury, their six best positions went to Georgia, Serbia, Azerbaijan, Romania, San Marino and Poland. For its part, Poland gave the top five places to San Marino, Azerbaijan, Romania and Montenegro, and placed Georgia in seventh place in the ranking.

San Marino, Poland, Montenegro, Azerbaijan and Georgia were the top five for the Romanian professional jury; while San Marino awarded first place to Romania, followed by Georgia, Poland, Montenegro and Azerbaijan.


In this way, the organizing entity of the contest has informed that, as established by the Eurovision Rules and the official voting instructions, if the votes of the national juries present irregular voting patterns (as detected by Pan-European Voting Partner and recognized by the Independent Voting Monitor), the executive supervisor of the Eurovision Song Contest “has the right to remove” the votes and “replace them with an automatically calculated substitute aggregate result to determine the final result of these countries in the second semi-final”.

After consultation with Pan-European Voting Partner and Independent Voting Monitor, the EBU did so “to preserve the integrity of the voting system” and “given the unprecedented nature” of the irregularity detected in the second semifinal.

“These decisions were approved by the President of the Reference Group of the Eurovision Song Contest, the board of directors of the contest and the deputy director general of the EBU in accordance with the requirements of the Voting Instructions of the Contest”, he confirmed, later adding which has since discussed jury patterns with the relevant broadcasters and given them the opportunity to further investigate jury voting in their countries.

The EBU reconfirms its decision to replace the jury votes of these six countries with a substitute aggregate result in both the second semi-final and the grand final, as well as the final ranking of the 40 participants in the Eurovision Song Contest 2022.

“The EBU, its members and the Reference Group will continue to work closely together to safeguard the integrity and success of an event that has been a unique platform for creative talent for 66 years and looks forward to continuing to entertain audiences around the world.” concluded.

By Editor

Leave a Reply