The film “Let There Be Morning” by director and screenwriter Eran Kolirin won the Best Film Award tonight (Tuesday) at the Ophir Awards for 2021. The film, based on his book Side Kashua, deals with residents of a village in East Jerusalem who discover one day that the village is under IDF curfew. In the past, the film also won the film award, screenplay and best actor at the Haifa International Film Festival.

Kolirin’s debut film, The Orchestra’s Visit, won the Ophir Award in 2008, but his Oscar nomination was rejected due to the fact that most of him speaks English and only some of the dialogues in the film speak Hebrew or Arabic, while this category should include films in non.English.

In addition, Collierin also won the Best Director and Best Screenplay Award. Jonah Suleiman who starred in the film won the lead actress award and Alex Bakri who played alongside her won the Best Leading Actor award. Raymond Amsalem won the Best Supporting Actress award for her role in “The House on Finn Street” and Ihab Elias Salameh the Supporting Actor Award for his role in the film “Let There Be Morning.”

Supporting Actor Award. Ihab Elias Salameh (Photo: Reuven Castro, Walla!)

The long documentary award went to Vanessa Lafa’s “Luxury on the Road to Hollywood”, the best editing award went to Yosef Greenfeld and Uri Ben Dov for their role in the film “Legend of Destruction”. Emri Dekel Kadosh won the award for best feature film up to 40 minutes for his film “The Accident.

Amit Yasur from the film “Victory Picture” won the best photography award. In the field of original music, Assaf Talmudi and Yonatan Albeck won the film “Legend of Destruction” and the best soundtrack design award went to Nati Zeidenstadt and Ronen Nagel, also from the film “Legend of Destruction”.

Recognition Award.  Avi Nesher (Photo: Reuven Castro, Walla!)Recognition Award. Avi Nesher (Photo: Reuven Castro, Walla!)

By Editor

Leave a Reply