Julio Béjar awarded the ‘Calderón de la Barca’ Theater Award for his play ‘Empieza por F’

Actor, poet and playwright Julio Béjar has been awarded with the Theater Prize for New Authors ‘Calderón de la Barca’ 2021, which Ministry of Culture and Sports to recognize and promote the work of new authors.

The jury has awarded him this award for his work Empieza por F, “a luminous text that addresses the topic of how affections are built, combining humor and sadness“.” A comedy with a surprising plot that is built with an original treatment of space, a peculiar drawing of characters and agile dialogues that give the work a good sense of rhythmor “, added the jury. They also stressed that” it is a text with a clear scenic potential that can be approached from different approaches “.

Julio Béjar (Almería, 1987) has a degree in Hispanic Philology, completed a postgraduate degree in Enseignement et Recherche from the Lumière University of Lyon and studied Stage Direction and Dramaturgy at RESAD. He completed his training in poetic creation with Manuel Vilas, in narrative with Antonio Orejudo and in theatrical aesthetics with Claudia Castellucci.

He worked as an actor in the La Cubana company and with the purpose of investigating in a transdisciplinary scenic language, he founded the collective La Confluencia, with which he mounted his first stage production, Mudanzas, premiered at the Generación del 27 Center in Malaga.

As a playwright, he published the works Aura (RESAD Fundamentos, 2019) and ‘8,56’ (Acto Primero, 2019), inspired by a jump by the athlete Yago Lamela. ‘8,56’ was the winner of the Esos Textos Ocultos contest, enjoyed a residency at the Guindalera room in Madrid and was premiered on April 24, 2021 at the Oscar Niemeyer Center in Avilés.

As a poet he won the Ciudad de Tudela and Federico Muelas awards. It was included in the anthologies ‘Something has moved: 25 young Andalusian poets’ (Esdrújula, 2018) and ‘Life ahead’ (En Huida, 2012). He has published the collection of poems ‘Knowledge of the environment’ (Ayto Cuenca, 2020) and ‘Manual of use for removals’ (En Huida, 2013).

He currently manages the Teatro de la Vida, a small home for the performing arts in the Madrid neighborhood of La Latina.


The Calderón de la Barca Prize is endowed with 10,000 euros and the publication of the award-winning work by the INAEM, through the Documentation Center for Performing Arts and Music (CDAEM). The winning title also benefits from a preferential valuation in the case of requesting a grant for its distribution.

In addition, in recent years, the National Dramatic Center has incorporated the dramatized reading or staging of the award-winning play into its programming. The call considers a new author to be anyone who has not publicly premiered more than one dramatic work. In this edition, a total of 151 texts have been presented.

The jury, which failed the award this morning, was chaired by the general director of INAEM, Amaya de Miguel; and the deputy director general of Theater, Fernando Ceron, who has acted as vice president; and has counted Sane Michelangelo, Javier de Dios, the actress Carlota Gaviño; Angela Monleon; David serrano; and Yaiza Berrocal.

Among the winners in previous editions are authors such as Juan Mayorga, Luisa Cunillé, José Ramón Fernández, Paco Bezerra, Yolanda Pallín, Borja Ortiz de Gondra, Raúl Hernández Garrido, Pedro Manuel Víllora, Carolina Africa Martín Pajares, Emiliano Pastor Steinmeyer, Blanca Doménech , Zo Brinviyer, Mar Gómez González, Carlos Contreras, Javier Vicedo Alós, Pablo Remón, Eva Mir and Yaiza Berrocal.

By Editor

Leave a Reply