Everything you wanted to know about the controversial protein


In recent years more and more people are deciding to adopt a balanced diet and remove gluten from the daily menu, as part of a balanced lifestyle. What many do not think about is that as a result of not consuming gluten we sometimes give up a lot of nutritional values ​​that we have not taken into account, which are actually essential building blocks for our body health. So just before you take dramatic steps, Dr. Amali Mesika, a clinical dietitian at Strauss, broadened our horizons and helped us understand a little more about the controversial protein and the alternatives that nature has to offer us.

Let’s start from the basics: the famous gluten is actually a protein found in many grains like wheat, barley, rye and more. Gluten consists mainly of glutenin and gliadin. There is a population that is sensitive to the gluten protein, which is the population of celiac patients, and in addition, there are people that eating this protein makes them uncomfortable and therefore they prefer to avoid it. Nowadays there is an obligation to label different food products if they contain gluten, so it is possible to know whether the product we consume contains the protein in question or not.

Not all grains contain the same amount of gluten

Although many grains contain the gluten protein, it is important to understand that not everyone contains the same amount. The most prominent grains are wheat, barley and rye. If you decide to reduce or completely eliminate gluten from your diet, of course this includes all foods based on the same grains like breads, pasta, flakes, semolina, couscous, burgul, wheat germ, wheat bran, cakes and cookies, bread crumbs, pearl barley, wheat Apple, white or black beer, whiskey and sometimes even cereal.

Yes, you will also have to give up pasta | צילום:
shutterstock By Asbrest

It should be borne in mind that many foods based on wheat, barley and rye contain many nutrients. “Beyond dietary fiber, whole grains also include the husk and germ of the grain, and they usually contain B vitamins and minerals like calcium, magnesium and more,” explains Dr. Mesika. Additional foods from the various food groups. ”

There is no shortage of things to eat

According to Mesika, one of the best alternatives to a gluten.free diet is gluten.free oats. “What’s beautiful about it is that on the one hand it belongs to the cereal group, that is, it is eaten ‘all.inclusive’ as a whole grain, and it manages to bring the richness of calcium, iron, dietary fiber, and on the other – it is gluten.free. Its protein is a different protein.”

 

“Sometimes oats are not completely labeled gluten.free, not because of the oats themselves, but due to nearby fields where grains are grown, as they contain gluten or if in those fields themselves grains containing gluten were previously grown,” she explains. Also on the market is oatmeal labeled ‘gluten free’, but at the same time – if it is gluten avoidance for other reasons – it should be understood that oatmeal or oatmeal is considered a gluten free grain. Gluten.free oats. ”

Power Ball Oatmeal (Photo: Tal Sivan Tzaforin)
Power Ball Oatmeal | Photo: Tal Sivan Tzaforin

Oatmeal is easy to use in a variety of dishes such as Power Ball, soups, cookies, smoothies, pies and more. Beyond that, you should know that carbohydrates like whole rice, potatoes, sweet potatoes and corn are also solutions in a gluten.free diet. All of these, along with meats, fish, vegetables and fruits, legumes, cheeses and more, can build you a balanced lifestyle that includes a rich, varied and delicious menu. So if for a moment you were worried that you would have nothing to eat without gluten, here’s the proof that you will probably not go hungry from this whole story.

Looking for gluten.free recipes? On the Oatmeal website and also On Instagram you will find a variety of oatmeal recipes especially for you that will go great with any meal of the day, and will earn your menu a nutritious and satisfying addition.

By Editor

One thought on “Everything you wanted to know about the controversial protein”

Leave a Reply