Eintracht Braunschweig: Nine above, eight below!  Braunschweig in 2nd league North-South – 2nd Bundesliga

There used to be a snappy slogan for business trips: “Bielefeld brings expense money”. For Eintracht Braunschweig, the promotion to the 2nd division not only means more TV money but also a noticeable reduction in travel costs.

2. Nord-Süd League!

Nine clubs from northern Germany will be in the lower house of football from mid-July. In addition to Braunschweig, arch-rivals Hannover 96, Hamburger SV and FC St. Pauli, Holstein Kiel, Hansa Rostock, SC Paderborn, Bundesliga relegated Arminia Bielefeld and co-promoted 1. FC Magdeburg.

From the south of the republic, 1. FC Nuremberg, Greuther Fürth, Jahn Regensburg, FC Heidenheim, Karlsruher SC, SV Sandhausen, Darmstadt 98 and newly promoted 1. FC Kaiserslautern are there. From the middle of Germany only Fortuna Düsseldorf is at the start.

The 2nd North-South League is full of tradition and championship titles. All in all, Nuremberg (9), HSV (6), Kaiserslautern (4), Greuther Fürth (3), Hanover (2), Braunschweig, Kiel and Düsseldorf have 27 DFB championships. Magdeburg (3) and Rostock (1) won four DFV championships in the East.

The DFL will publish the fixtures for the 2022/23 season on June 17. At Hannover 96 the away start (July 15th – 17th) is already set, the HDI Arena is occupied by a concert. This could increase Braunschweig’s hopes of a home start.

Also because the first division footballers of the Braunschweig Lions are free of games that weekend and only meet the Potsdam Royals a week later in the Eintracht Stadium.

By Editor

Leave a Reply