WhatsApp today (Wednesday) introduces another innovation in the app, the option to send photos and videos that are automatically deleted after one viewing, without the recipient being able to save them on his device. The software is currently only available in the beta version on Android devices and in the coming weeks it is expected to be available for all users.
When the feature is running, you can see on the right side of the message line an icon with the number 1, which represents a one-time impression of an attached image or video. In addition, the software works even if the user to whom the message was sent did not install the new version on his device.
The new version of the widget comes after WhatsApp launched the “disappearance mode” and “one-time notifications” features earlier this month. Mark Zuckerberg argued that the one-time messaging feature would allow people to send messages to others through the app, and they would destroy themselves immediately after being read by the other party.
Also, the “disappearance mode” will be significantly upgraded from its current format. Currently, users can set that in a particular chat the messages will be deleted after a set period of time. After the upgrade, it will be possible to activate this feature in all active chats at the same time.