How to permanently delete Facebook account

The red social created by Mark Zuckerberg, Facebook still on top of the podium. It grew by 6.2% in 2021 and, by the beginning of this year, reached 2.91 billion accounts (nearly 60% of the world’s population). It is followed by YouTube (2,562 million) and Whatsapp (2,000 million).

However, there are not a few who are closing their profiles. The causes? Security flaws, which exposed the data of millions of users, for example in 2019, and the preference of young people for other networks. So it is good to know how to permanently delete facebook account.

According to data from We are social, last year Facebook grew 6.2%. That same period, TikTok registered a growth of 45% and Instagram, 21%. The majority of TikTok and Instagram users are between the ages of 16 and 34, while Facebook seduces more those who are between 35 and 54 years old. This explains, in part, the migration from Facebook, especially among the youngest.

How to permanently delete Facebook account

There are two alternatives for those who are tired of this network. One is to “take a break” using the option Temporarily deactivate your account.

Facebook grew by 6.2% in 2021 and, by the beginning of 2022, reached 2.91 billion accounts (almost 60% of the world’s population). Photo: AP/Martin Meissner, File.

In this case, explain Facebook that the profile will no longer be visible or accessible but the posts, photos and videos will remain. The user will be able to continue using Messenger and resort to network login in other apps. However, you will not be able to manage the pages you have created (to maintain them, another administrator must be appointed). Instead, you can reactivate the account at any time.

To deactivate the account for a time, click on the icon located in the upper right part of the profile. Then select Settings and privacy and Settings. The next step, click on Your Facebook information and in Deactivation and removal.

In that tab, choose Deactivate accountclick Continue with account deactivation and follow the instructions below.

Facebook always gives a new opportunity: within 30 days of account closure, this action can be canceled. Photo: Shutterstock. Facebook always gives a new opportunity: within 30 days of account closure, this action can be canceled. Photo: Shutterstock.

The other option, obviously, is to permanently delete the account. Facebook warns that the account cannot be reactivated; that posts, photos and videos will be lost as well as the use of Messenger or the start in other apps and that the pages managed by the account holder will also be deleted. So, before closing the account, it is a good idea to download a copy of all the information stored in the profile.

Once this is done, follow these steps: In the profile, click on the icon located at the top right. Choose Settings and privacy, and click on Settings. Then click on Your Facebook information. Then go to Deactivation and removal. To choose Delete account enter the password and click Continue.

Of course Facebook always gives a new opportunity. Before 30 days of account closure, it can be canceled. The “repentant” will need to log in to the account and click Cancel removal.

By Editor

Leave a Reply