Switzerland adheres to the sixth package of sanctions of the European Union against Russia

The Swiss Government confirmed on Wednesday its adherence to the sixth round of sanctions applied by the European Union against Russia in response to its invasion of Ukraine, which began on February 24 by order of Russian President Vladimir Putin.

With this decision adopted by the Swiss Federal Council, the Central European country, traditionally neutral in international conflicts, adopts the measures imposed by the European Union that point to the embargo of Russian oil and other refined derivative products.

“Like the measures applicable in the European Union, the purchase, importation, transit and transport to or within Switzerland are prohibited,” the Swiss Executive reported in a statement in which it emphasizes that the “provision of services” in relation to the transportation of crude oil.

As far as the financial sector is concerned, the measures prohibit the provision of services such as “accounting, public relations and business consulting to the Russian government or to legal persons and entities established in Russia”. In addition, Switzerland also adheres to the ban on the dissemination of content from Russian media such as Russia Today or Sputnik.

Switzerland has already implemented most of the measures applied by Brussels against Russia, including prohibitions regarding the award of public contracts to Russian citizens and organizations or entities established in Russia.

By Editor

Leave a Reply