Germany redesignates Austria as a high.risk area

The German federal government has again classified Austria as a high-risk area from Sunday due to the high number of corona infections. Exceptions to this are the communities of Mittelberg and Jungholz as well as the Rißtal in the community area of ​​Vomp and Eben am Achensee.

This means that all nine of Germany’s neighboring countries are again on the risk list. In addition to Austria, more than 30 other countries are on the list, many of them in Africa and the Caribbean. In total, almost 140 of the approximately 200 countries in the world are on the risk list.

On a list with Serbia and Somalia

Anyone entering the country from a high-risk area and not fully vaccinated or recovered must be in quarantine for ten days and can only get out of it five days after entry with a negative test at the earliest. The classification as a high-risk area is linked to a travel warning from the Federal Foreign Office for non-essential tourist trips. It makes it easier for tourists to cancel trips that have already been booked free of charge, but does not mean a travel ban.

Bulgaria, Latvia, North Macedonia, Albania, Serbia, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Djibouti, Burkina Faso, Gambia, Liberia, Senegal and Niger, Equatorial Guinea, São Tomé and Príncipe, Guinea-Bissau, the Central African Republic, Eritrea, Madagascar, Somalia, Colombia, Peru, Guyana, Suriname, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Benin, Costa Rica, Dominican Republic, Saint Lucia, Antigua and Barbuda, the Philippines and Chad.

By Editor