Washington puts six Nigerians on its list of banned people

The United States of America has placed six Nigerians for their support of the terrorist group “Boko Haram” on the list of banned persons.

The US State Department stated, in a statement on its website, that the Office of Foreign Assets Control of the US Department of the Treasury has included Nigerian nationals Abdurrahman Addo Musa, Saleh Yusuf Adamu, Bashir Ali Yusuf, Muhammad Ibrahim Issa, Ibrahim Ali Al-Hassan and Saraju Abu Bakr Muhammad to the list of banned persons. Pursuant to Executive Order 13224, for their involvement in aiding, sponsoring, or providing financial, material, or technological support, goods, or services to Boko Haram.

It is noteworthy that the US State Department designated Boko Haram a Foreign Terrorist Organization and a Global Terrorist Organization on November 14, 2013.

The group is based in Nigeria and is responsible for numerous attacks in the northern and northeastern regions of the country as well as in the Lake Chad Basin in Cameroon, Chad and Niger that have killed thousands of people since 2009.

By Editor

Leave a Reply